Above The Law – Black Mafia Life

Label: Ruthless Records
Format: CD
Country: US
Released: 1993


1. “Black Triangle” 1:50
2. “Never Missin’ A Beat” 6:58
3. “Why Must I Feel Like That?” 4:08
4. “Commin’ Up” 5:21
5. “Pimpology 101” 4:04
6. “Call It What You Want” (featuring 2Pac & Money-B) 4:33
7. “Harda U R Tha Doppa U Faal” 4:49
8. “Game Wreck-Oniz-Iz Game” (featuring Eazy-E & Kokane) 5:12
9. “Pimp Clinic” 6:20
10. “V.S.O.P.” 4:49
11. “Process Of Elimination (Untouchakickamurdaqtion)” (featuring M.C. Ren) 5:56
12. “G’s & Macaronies” 4:04
13. “G-rupies Best Friend” (featuring Kokane) 5:30
14. “Mee Vs. My Ego” 5:20
15. “Outro” 2:21

Black Mafia Life is the second studio album from Above the Law. This album Is what would be considered the blue print sound similar to Dr Dre’s The Chronic. The sound that would be later termed G-Funk. Recorded in 1991 into 1992 but was held back due Legal Issues with Epic And Dr. Dre’s departure from Ruthless Records. It was released on February 2, 1993 via Ruthless Records. The album peaked at number 6 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and number 37 on the US Billboard 200. Rolling Stone gave the album 4.5 stars out of 5.

As on the group’s previous works, Livin’ Like Hustlers and Vocally Pimpin’, this album’s audio production was mostly handled by A.T.L. themselves, but this one excluded any contributions from Lay Law. It features guest appearances from Kokane, Eazy-E, 2pac, MC Ren, and Digital Underground. Its lead single “V.S.O.P.” peaked at number 9 on the Hot Rap Singles and number 97 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles. Above the Law member Go Mack left the group soon after release of the album. source: Wiki


7 + 2 =