The Body-Hat Syndrome is the third album from the rap group Digital Underground, on which they continued to cultivate their own brand of P-Funk culture, ending more than a year of silence with a fresh batch of funk-infused rap. With the edgy grind of the leading single, “The Return of the Crazy One”, and its accompanying X-rated video (reworked for public consumption) boosting the band back into the spotlight, the rest of the album unfurled to less than outstanding crossover commercial acclaim. The album’s second single, an anti-racism cultural awareness politico called “Wussup Wit the Luv”, featured an inspired solo from the Funkadelic guitarist Michael Hampton, as well as a verse and video appearance by Tupac Shakur. This was the last time Shakur appeared on any Digital Underground release, while the lead rappers Saafir and Clee were added to the line up.
This album also features “The Humpty Dance Awards”, the group’s humorous shout-out to the many artists who sampled “The Humpty Dance” before 1993. Since then the list has grown to over 50 artists (see “The Humpty Dance”).

Submit your review

Create your own review

Average rating:  
 0 reviews